Stronger

September 16, 2009

After mom’s funeral and two months of spending every day surrounded by my family and friends back in California, my independent streak had been bruised up a little. Texas had never been so lonely.

But as you may have read over at the other blog, I’m a member of a gym called Crossfit Dallas Central that has helped me to get a little stronger, in every sense of the word.

My dad…and most of my non-Crossfit friends call it a cult. And in a way, it kind of is like a cult because it has changed the way that I think about how I eat, when I go to bed, how I approach any kind of challenge and how I live in general.

But most importantly, Crossfit has been my therapy over the past few months since mom passed away. We workout in groups (or packs?), and the 7PM class is like family to me now.

This doesn’t mean that I don’t get homesick…but there’s nothing like burpees, snatches, kettlebell swings and handstand-pushups to help put things back into perspective.

Here is a link that helps explain what-it’s-all-about: CROSSFIT

 

6 Responses to “Stronger”


  1. I have never considered Crossfit a cult. I just call it “torturous extreme gym”. It will only test my imagination. It will never test me in the real world. Have “fun” my son.
    Dad


  2. That’s good to know. I will gladly stand up to the chocolate cult by going to Crossfit for you tonight. If you could do an extra mile to compensate for my recent addiction to Haagen Dazs 5 Mint Ice Cream, I would be very grateful.

  3. Lydia Avina Drayer Says:

    As far as cults go, I’d say Crossfit is a good one. There are days when I go home and feel compelled to shovel some chocolate down to bury the grief. The Chocolate Cult is so bad and yet so tasty. Instead I grudgingly put on my jogging gear, which would not be complete without my ipod, and hit the road. About half a mile later I stop grumbling. A mile in I don’t feel like a martyr. Two miles in and I’m smiling and waving at neighbors along the way. By the time I’m home again I’m smelly, sweaty, but much cheered. On days when the Chocolate Cult really reaches out to me, I just picture you at Crossfit and it gets me and the ipod out the door.


Leave a Reply

