The Blessing of Memory

June 15, 2009

Dear Chole’s Quilt, and Chole’s Family,  I ran across this today.  It is from a Jewish book of prayers.  It helped me, and I thought I would share it with you:

It is hard to sing of oneness when our world is not complete, when Chole, who once brought wholeness to our life, has gone, and nothing but memory can fill the emptiness that her passing leaves behind.

 But memory can tell us only what we were, in company with Chole, whom we loved; it cannot help us find what each of us, alone, must now become.  Yet no one is really alone; Chole echos still within our thoughts and words, and who she was is part of what we have become.

 We do best homage to her now gone when we live our lives most fully, even in the shadow of our loss.  For each of our lives is worth the life of the whole world; in each one is the breath of the Ultimate One.  In affirming the One, we affirm the worth of Chole, whose life, now ended, brought us closer to the Source of life, in whose unity no one is alone and every life finds purpose.

Love, Mary Allen

One Response to “The Blessing of Memory”

  1. Nori Meadows Says:

    Jackson family,

    May your wonderful memories comfort you now and always. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I have many fond memories of Chole! My favorite being when she insisted on giving my husband and I a private infant massage lesson when I was pregnant with my son. It meant a lot that she took that time for us. My son just turned 2 and each night after his bath I still massage him a little and I will always think of Chole when I do. She also enjoyed it very much when he would “visit” EPU. During a conversation one day when Chole found out that I was half Italian, she asked me if I knew how to make Eggplant Parmigiana. She said she loved it and always wanted to know how to make it. I explained to her how my family makes it, but I didn’t have a recipe being that it was one of those dishes I grew up making. It was nice to discover we both shared a love for cooking and food! She also gave me a hand painted card of one of her still life florals. It brightens my desk and always will! She was an exceptionally wonderful person! God Bless.

    Nori Meadows (Fresno Unified “co-located staff” at EPU)


Leave a Reply

