Teamwork

June 13, 2009

Alongside the outpouring of support from family and friends, there has been a special team of people that the Jackson Family owes a huge debt of gratitude over the past few weeks: Nancy Hinds Hospice.

At first, the idea of hospice was difficult to accept as it required a certain acknowledgment that takes a while to get used to. It may sound weird but no matter how many MRIs, oncologists, blood tests, radiologists and eventually even symptoms confirm the unthinkable, it’s very easy to pretend that “everything’s going to be OK” for a very long time.

In order to qualify for hospice, a patient must receive a prognosis from their physician of 6 months or less. So when you are still holding out for a miracle, accepting hospice seems like a betrayal of faith.

That was until our initial visit with our hospice social worker. That visit, along with all of the subsequent visits from nurses and CNAs has brought not only a stream of support and understanding for my mom, but for the entire family as well.

In just a few short weeks, the team has become a part of all of our routines. For my mom, it means the care and support that she needs in order to remain comfortable and safe here at home with her family. For the rest of us, the hospice team has been a huge resource – not only for the support that they provide 24/7, but for the knowledge that they share with us. While my mom benefits directly from their care, they empowered the rest of our family to participate in caring for my mom on a level way beyond what we could have done on our own.

Personally, I look forward to visits from Brenda, Margaret, Mary Kay and Tabitha. And from my mother’s reaction, I know that she shares my utmost appreciation for Gina who has extended such sensitive, dignified and gentle care to my mom that all of us have become huge fans. Gina comes to the house twice per week always spending as much time as required to make sure that my mom is comfortable. While we cautiously work with my mom, Gina just “seems to know” what my mom needs with an acute sensitivity, even when my mom cannot speak for herself. Gina’s gentle hand and calm voice – often switching back and forth between English and Spanish for my mom – as well as everyone else that we have encountered through Nancy Hinds Hospice, have been a great comfort to us all.

One Response to “Teamwork”

  1. hospicephysician Says:

    Please check out my blog at http://www.hospicephysician.wordpress.com, thanks.


Leave a Reply

