Home

June 13, 2009

After a long day of Texas thunderstorms and flight delays, I made it back to Fresno just before midnight on Thursday.

Dad met me at the airport (er, “air terminal”) while my mom’s good friend Linda stayed by my mom’s side at the house.

Mom’s pretty much been asleep since I arrived, opening her eyes only occasionally and using her hands to help communicate.

Mom’s breath sounds are more labored. It’s almost impossible for her to swallow now; we are using glycerin swabs and eye droppers of ice water to keep her comfortable.

No matter how we position her, my mom’s head always seems to turn towards the French doors that look out onto the patio. Time seems to be moving very quickly now compared with those long afternoons we spent watching NCIS just a few days ago. Much too quickly.

Now that there are no meals to prepare or wheelchairs to push, there’s a cruel serenity in the house. I don’t think there’s a word to describe the guilty satisfaction I feel just being able to sit here with my mom surrounded by her art, photographs and all of the memories that we have shared together as a family here in this room.

Howard Joseph

2 Responses to “Home”

  1. Jill Harkness Says:

    To Chole’s Family,

    I really appreciate the updates. We all face adversity of one kind or another in life but I have watched Chole face her health issues with such courage, grace, and strength. I have so much respect for how she has faced her challenges. She did it her way, the Chole way. Chole has had such wonderful support from her family. I have enjoyed hearing story’s about Chole’s family over the years at EPU. You really are as wonderful as she has told us you are. At this time, I wish Chole comfort and her family strength. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you.

    Jill Harkness

  2. Liz Maury Says:

    Dear Chole and all your family,

    I send you love from Takoma Park, Maryland, where I am thinking of you and of your special presence always. Since you came tot EPU I have treasured the time we have shared.

    May your journey be peaceful.

    With much love,

    Liz Maury


Leave a Reply

