A few steps forward and…

May 17, 2009

It’s always something.

After finding what seemed to be the right combination of medications to control the nausea and pain, a new symptom seems to have developed. Mobility has now become the issue.

It’s been a couple of days now that mom has had more trouble than usual getting around. Up until then, she could pretty much walk through any room of the house with a little assistance. That has changed.

At first it seemed as if it was just a side effect of some of the new medications that she’s been taking to control the nausea and pain. That still may be the case and we met with her hospice nurse this morning who helped us with a few adjustments that will hopefully help. For now though, she can’t take more than a few, very shaky steps at a time. Mom is now dependent upon the wheelchair to get around.

On a positive note, mom’s appetite has returned and Isaac is in the kitchen making some soft tacos for lunch.

I will remain in Fresno an extra two days so that we can make some arrangements in response to this latest development.

5 Responses to “A few steps forward and…”


  1. Dear Howard,

    We are so grateful to you for keeping us informed about Chole’s journey.

    Chuck and I find ourselves remembering our many trips to Pismo Beach with the Williams, Marbles, and the Jacksons. What great times! As you and I spoke last week about those weekends, I realize how important they were to all our kids. Myla and Tyler remember with great fondness the beach walks, the BBQs, and especially the occasional use of the hot tub that was supposed to be off-limits for the young kids. Your folks have always held a special place in the hearts of Myla and Tyler. It must be her motherliness that so many people have mentioned in the recent posts. Chole taking her little sister on the adventure that ended up at the carnival, her co-workers mention of Choles disdain of improper shoes during pregnancy, and, of course, the wonderful sons that she and Howard raised so well. There are so many vignettes that one can summon of her caring ways and attention to those around her. We feel so blessed to be a part of your loving family.

    We will continue to keep all of you close in our hearts.

    With love,

    Sandy and Chuck

  2. cholesquilt Says:

    This reply, by Rebecca Avina Lara is reposted here per the author’s request.

    Rebecca Says:

    May 18, 2009 at 3:11 pm e

    On Easter I was down about my sister’s illness. I had to make an Easter lunch for my family and just didn’t feel up to going to church with all that was happening to my sister, Chole. At the last minute I changed my mind because I didn’t want my husband to sit there alone on such a special day. I sat there as our Minister rounded the airport again and again with his sermon. Finally he said I am going to finish by bring up to two guests. I thought, Oh great, now he has passengers on this plane to no where. This couple was a husband and wife who came up and talked about their religious beliefs and how it inspired them in making a very difficult journey. She had brain cancer and make it quite clear that she was in God’s hands and was allowing her faith to lead her. She further said “if God intends me to be with my family here on earth or in heaven, it’s his choice”. They they went onto discuss 1 Corinthians 13:4-8:
    “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perserveres. Love never fails.
    I went up to Fresno and shared this verse with Chole and she said “How funny, that’s my favorite verse.” I have to tell Howard.
    It was no surprise to me because this definitely reflects how Chole lives her life and touches us all.

  3. Jane Says:

    Howard thanks so much for tha regular updates on your mom. I think of her so many times each day, and it helps to know that you all are together and working to make things the best that they can be. What I would want people and especially Chole, to know is that nobody could have been a better friend than she has been to me these 30+ years. She truly was always the guardian of our relationship, and if too much time elapsed between time together, she would be the first to call and schedule a get-together. Howard, Chole, Mike and I have always loved good and interesting food, so over the years, we have shared many wonderful meals at each other’s homes. One of my favorite memories was a surprise birthday lunch that she had for me. She had a beautiful,very large gift bag for me. You can imagine how surprised I was to find a huge stuffed Easter Chicken complete with multi-colored eggs. I was able to “regift” Mrs. Chicken back to Chole some years later. I love you both and hope to be able to offer some form of help to you anytime that you have need. In the meantime, you are in my prayers and thoughts.

  4. Linda Haymond Says:

    Howard, Thank you for finding the time to post these touching entries on chole’s blog. Tell your mom I love her and will check in with your dad for arranging a quick visit this week. I just viewed the slide show. Beautiful and touching.

  5. Mague (margarita) Says:

    Howard Jr., I can’t believe I figured out how to blog?!! Please share this with Chole. I did not have an opportunity to share with my sister Chole a delightful memory I have of just the two of us yesterday during our visit. As usual, being the middle child, I just listened as the 2nd eldest, Irene and youngest, Lydia were chatting away. Oh the drama! Anyway, picture the 1960’s, our parent’s living room color scheme was like everyone elses, blue and gold. My dad installed blue lights for a very dreamy affect. In the evening, after homework and dishes, Chole would play her records: Johnny Mathis, The Platters, Harry Belfonte, Paul Anka, Dion, etc. She would make me dance with her and even though she was taller than me, she insisted and taught me to “lead”. Chole is a great dancer! I learned to cha,cha, cha, twist, tango, slow dance under Chole’s direction. And while I loved to go out dancing as soon as could to show off all I had learned, my slow dancing days ended in my parents living room. It was brought to my attention, during my first real slow dance, that girls do not lead – how was I to know. Chole thought that was pretty darn funny.


Leave a Reply

