Strength, Will & Courage

May 9, 2009

The following message from Isaac also appears as a reply to the “In the moment” post. Sorry for the repeat content. It just seemed appropriate to bump it up out of the replies and give it a spot on the front page:

I just wanted to thank everyone for their support and love. From time to time I check my mother’s quilt, but for the most part I find it too difficult to read. For several years I have been trying to prepare myself and my family for this difficult path we are on, but I’m still not ready. This is surreal.

Yesterday, I spent the day with my Mom. She received a phone call from the medical supply store from where my Dad had ordered a walker. She was surprised by the call and upset that my Dad hadn’t talked to her first about ordering it. She told the person on the phone, “I will have my husband pick up HIS walker”. Then she called my dad and left him a voicemail saying, “Lee YOUR walker is ready and YOU will need to arrange picking it up”. When she got off the phone I told her my Dad was just trying to help and for her just to consider using the walker. She told me, “I don’t like people making decisions for me”. Although the cancer is taking its toll physically on my Mom, it will never diminish her strength, will, and courage.

Thank you for your continued love and support.

Isaac

Leave a Reply

